Vinaya Pitaka

Vinaya PitakaThe Vinaya Pitaka is the first of three divisions of the Tripitaka, the canon of Buddhism.

It mainly concerns the vinaya, or code of conduct for Buddhist monks and nuns.

The other two parts of the Tripitaka are the Sutta Pitaka and the Abhidhamma Pitaka. Its primary subject matter is the monastic rules for monks and nuns. The name Vinaya Pitaka (vinayapi aka) is the same in Pāli, Sanskrit and other dialects used by early Buddhists.

See also

  • Abhidhamma Pitaka
  • Buddhist texts
  • Sutta Pitaka
buddha monk

buddha monk