Majjhima Nikaya

Majjhima NikayaThe Majjhima Nikaya (“Collection of Middle-length Discourses”) is the second of the five nikayas, or collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the “three baskets” that compose the Pali Tipitaka. This nikaya consists of 152 discourses by the Buddha and his chief disciples, which together constitute a comprehensive body of teaching concerning all aspects of the Buddha’s teachings.

See also

  • Anguttara Nikaya
  • Buddhist texts
  • Digha Nikaya
  • Khuddaka Nikaya
  • List of Majjhima Nikaya suttas
  • Samyutta Nikaya


  • Bhikkhu Nanamoli and Bhikkhu Bodhi (trans.), The Middle Length Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Majjhima Nikaya, Somerville: Wisdom Publications. ISBN 086171072X.
buddha monk

buddha monk