Digha Nikaya

Digha NikayaThe Digha Nikaya (“Collection of Long Discourses”) is the first of the five nikayas, or collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the “three baskets” that compose the Pali Tipitaka. Some of the most commonly referenced suttas from the Digha Nikaya include the Maha-parinibbana Sutta (DN 16), which described the final days and death of the Buddha, the Sigalovada Sutta (DN 31) in which the Buddha discusses ethics and practices for lay followers, and the Samaññaphala (DN 2), Brahmajala Sutta (DN 1) which describes and compares the point-of-view of Buddha and other ascetics in India about the universe and time (past, present, and future); and Potthapada (DN 9) Suttas, which describe the benefits and practice of samatha meditation.



The Digha Nikaya consists of 34 discourses, broken into three groups:

  • Silakkhandha-vagga — The Division Concerning Morality (13 suttas)
  • Maha-vagga — The Large Division (10 suttas)
  • Patika-vagga — The Patika Division (11 suttas)

See also


  • Walshe, Maurice (trans.), The Long Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Digha Nikaya, Somerville: Wisdom Publications. ISBN 0861711033. Digha Nikaya

Dīgha Nikāya

buddha monk

buddha monk