Anguttara Nikaya

Anguttara NikayaThe Anguttara Nikaya (“Gradual Collection”) is the fourth of the five nikayas, or collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the “three baskets” that compose the Pali Tipitaka. This nikaya consists of several thousand discourses by the Buddha and his chief disciples arranged in eleven nipatas, or books, according to the number of Dhamma items referenced in them.


The nipatas in this nikaya are:

  • The Book of Ones
  • The Book of Twos
  • The Book of Threes
  • The Book of Fours
  • The Book of Fives
  • The Book of Sixes
  • The Book of Sevens
  • The Book of Eights
  • The Book of Nines
  • The Book of Tens
  • The Book of Elevens

See also

  • Buddhist texts
  • Digha Nikaya
  • Khuddaka Nikaya
  • Majjhima Nikaya
  • Samyutta Nikaya
buddha monk

buddha monk